Woman of the Year

Once a year, we celebrate the accomplishments of a special woman in our community. Our organization recognizes a woman who exemplifies leadership, charity, inspiration or courage. The recipient does not have to be a recipient of the Pulitzer Prize or the CEO of a company, but simply a woman whom we as a group acknowledge for her unique contributions to our community.

Submit a nomination form for Woman of the Year today! Nominations for next year’s award are due Aug. 31. Award winners include:

  • 2019: Kirsten Anderson, advocate against workplace harassment
  • 2018: Lori Evans, caterer and faith leader
  • 2016: Kimberly Baeth, owner of Golden Openings, Inc., a nationally-known supplier of grand opening supplies
  • 2015: Tiffany Tauscheck, Chief Communications Officer at the Greater Des Moines Partnership
  • 2014: Judy Bradshaw, Retiring Chief of Police of Des Moines.  Press Release for Judy Bradshaw 2014
  • 2013: Christina Moffatt, owner of Crème Cupcake & Dessert and participant in The Food Network’s Cupcake Wars  Press Release for Christina Moffatt
  • 2012: Claudia Henning, Coordinator of the West Des Moines Youth Justice Initiative
  • 2011: Dr. Aimee Beckmann-Collier, Professor of Conducting and Director of Choral Studies at Drake University.
  • 2010: Kathy Leggett, Director of Advocacy and Outreach, Blank Children’s Hospital.
  • 2009: Jacqueline Easley, Director, Community & Diversity Services, Mercy Medical Center
  • 2008: Carol Ann Kirkbride, Leader Dogs
  • 2007: Dr. Rizwan Shah, Medical Director, Regional Child Protection Center at Blank Children’s Hospital
  • 2005: Miriam Erickson Brown, civic leader and President and COO, Anderson Erickson Dairy
  • 2004: Dr. Patty Quinlisk, public health education, state epidemiologist
  • Angie Anderson, Pet Visitation Programs and Humane Education, Bunny Expert at the Animal Rescue League of Iowa


%d bloggers like this: